Motivation gets me nowhere.

Screen Shot 2013-09-16 at 7.00.51 PM

I love Pinterest. I also hate it. It makes me feel like my house is in shambles and my kids aren’t loved–because there’s no way I’m hand-making a burlap bed skirt or freezing fifty clean meals just so my kids don’t have to eat Chik-Fil-A on the reg.

But the good thing that Pinterest does is it motivates me. It makes me aware of things I could/should do. It’s like, “Oh, yeah. I should for sure make my own tufted headboard. It’s basically free and SO SIMPLE.” But am I firing up a table saw? Am I racing to the nearest fabric store? No. But I want to do it–I even think I probably should do it. But I’m not gonna.

That’s because motivation isn’t enough.

I need something more. I need something deeper. Motivation feels external, and I need something to happen inside of me. I need inspiration.

The good news for me is that I’m easily inspired. I’m like, a bleeding heart when it comes to romance, the underdog, redemption, babies, random acts of kindness or bravery…Basically, any good story will make me want to advocate, preach, and write. (Except those weird animal cruelty commercials where Sarah McLachlan sings super melancholy songs. Those just make me sad.)

I look for inspiration in songs, the Bible, stories I hear people share, in moments I share with my family, in movies. When I’m inspired, I’ll cross any ocean, climb any mountain, stay up any number of hours to get it done.

When I’m motivated, I pin it and forget it.

Are you currently feeling motivated or inspired? What inspires you? Do you think there’s a difference?

Leave a Reply

