5 best heroines of all time.

5 best heroines of all time.

…if by all time, you mean in recent years AND in a book I’ve read.

The common denominator with all my favorite heroines is their self-confidence. Even if they question or doubt themselves from time to time, I like a girl with a mind of her own. I’m not talking about a girl who has an inflated self-image, or a girl who always knows the right thing to say or do, I’m just talking about a girl with a backbone, a girl whose self-respect raises the moral climate around her. She’s flawed, but her will to do and be better is strong.

I want to give my readers a girl worth looking up to–a girl who makes them stop and think … Hey, I DO deserve fairness, respect, and love.

(Stepping carefully off the soapbox.)

Here they are:

5. Tris, DIVERGENCE series
4. Clary, MORTAL INSTRUMENTS series
3. Katniss, HUNGER GAMES series
2.Hermione, HARRY POTTER series
1. Julie, WARM BODIES

Who gets your vote? Did someone important not make my list?

 

Holly Lauren is the author of Tempus, a Young Adult Science Fiction romance available now at Amazon.com. 

5 thoughts on “5 best heroines of all time.

  1. Well~ “love” your quote on this page! The reader is “drawn in,” wants to read more and understand, Chapel. Your blog is exciting, inspirational, well presented. I can’t wait to read more of your posts!
    Best.

  2. Jane Eyre. 🙂 But I’d also like to add the heroine from the book I’m reading right now, Chapel Ryan. The quote you mentioned above definitely stood out to me when I read it. I love her no nonsense attitude, and the dialogue between Chapel and Zay is bringing the best of her out. Erica is an excellent foil (who I incidentally also can’t help smiling about being that I’m from New Jersey). I just started chapter 15. 🙂

Leave a Reply

