How to write a kiss.

How to write a kiss.

Not a lot makes me squirm more than the thought of my dad or my grandmother reading a kissing scene in one of my books. I mean, seriously. I’m pretty sure my dad would like to assume I’ve never been kissed.

But, I have been kissed. (Dad, skip this sentence if you’re reading: and I really like kissing.)

So, when I’m writing a kissing scene–especially that FIRST kiss between characters–there are a two guidelines I like to follow.

1. Indulge in setting descriptions

If you’ve read some of my other posts, you know I don’t like to be over-descriptive when it comes to detailing the settings in my books. For example, I don’t often tell you what color the carpet is or how the wallpaper reminds me of a picture I drew when I was four. But when it comes to kissing scenes, I like to make it easier for my readers to get a graphic visual. I want the image to be so real, and so bright, they can fully concentrate on that first moment of lip contact.

2. Keep your reader in mind

If you’ve made your readers wait for this kiss, spend a little time with it. Tease it out. Nothing disappoints me more than a fade-to-black scene on the first kiss. NO! We’ve earned the right to know how it ends, what color his cheeks are when he pulls away, how it felt to drive home beside him. I’m not talking about pages and pages of tongue descriptions, but I think you can afford to linger here for a beat longer that a normal scene.

What are your tips to writing a good kissing scene? How graphic should you be?

Holly Lauren is the author of TEMPUS, a Young Adult Science Fiction Romance available on Amazon.com and BarnesandNoble.com.

2 thoughts on “How to write a kiss.

Leave a Reply

